Newest Research


We are delighted to report that our research division, headed by Dr. Chris White, has recent received two grants which will allow our family medicine department to continue its role in advancing our field to meet for the current health care needs both close and far from home. 

Transformational Fellowship Training for Community Primary Care Champions is a new $2million 5-year HRSA award in partnership with the newly accredited Physician-Assistant program at Mount St. Joseph University. The $2 million will create a new faculty-development fellowship under Program Director Dr. Megan Rich. Early-career PCPs will be trained in leadership, healthcare transformation, and education through a curriculum built on quality improvement, the social determinants of health, substance use disorders, collaborative mental health care, medical education curriculum, and provider wellness. Each of the 20 fellows (2018-2023) will complete a mentored practice transformation project through community-participatory learning. We will build bridges between community practice sites, UC, and Mount St. Joseph University PA Program, and involved UC team members include Dr. Megan Rich, Dr. Chris White, Dr. Soni Regan, Daniel Hargraves, and Dr. Jeffrey Schlaudecker. This awesome new grant runs alongside the current Primary Care Transformation $1.75m HRSA grant (2015-2020) focusing on the residency and involving the above team plus Dr. Anna Goroncy and Dr. Reid Hartmann.

Enhancing Community Providers Competence in Providing MAT for Substance Use Disorders is a supplement we were just awarded (based on our outstanding work last year) for $87,500.00 which will pay for the multi-talented Daniel Hargraves to again lead several educational endeavors helping primary care providers improve care in the setting of our current opioid epidemic. Another dinner/book club (New Book!), revamped naloxone skills sessions for residents and physician assistant trainees at Mount St. Joseph University, and a collaborative effort with The Christ Hospital's Opioid Task Force for a CME day are a few highlights. Dr. Chris WhiteDr. Hilja Ruegg, Dr. Reid Hartmann, Dr. Pat Wigle, and Sarah Brubaker are all involved.